Fabric softener is my new best friend

First, a bit of an explanation – when we bought our house 4 years ago, it was painted with flat paint. Over 4 years, flat paint gets pretty icky, and the stuff is pretty much non-washable. So we decided to repaint the house.

Also, 4 years ago I decided I wanted to have horse wallpaper-border in my room. It’s really pretty and it was great while it lasted, but it’s time to say good-bye.

So yesterday I decided to start stripping what I could reach without moving the furniture. It’s not that old, and it’s supposed to be the easy-strip kind, so how hard could it be?

Yeah, it was a pain. The top layer came off beautifully – but the backing stayed on the wall. Not good. I worked with it awhile, spraying it with hot water using a paint scraper, but it was slow-going so I decided to let it rest for a while.

Today I started at it again. Using the hot water method and this time alternating between the paint scraper and a razor blade, I was able to get most of the backing off. But it still left behind a gummy residue. I tried to find a sure-fire method on the internet, via Google. I tried more hot water. I tried sanding it. I tried Goo Gone. I tried snapping my fingers like Mary Poppins. I tried enlisting my little sister to do it. (Okay, so Google didn’t suggest those last two.)

Finally mom typed some magic words into Google and found something I’d missed – equal parts fabric softener and water. So I tried that too. Guess what? It worked like a charm.

And since my real best friend told me she’d never forgive me for deciding the border needed to go, I guess that Purex Mountain Fresh fabric softener is my new best friend. At least it smells good.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Fabric softener is my new best friend

  1. Deanna Clopper

    Ha Ha! Brings back old memories and not good ones! I know what a pain borders can be 🙂 We’ll have to try that method next time we need to take border off. That’s a shame that your friend won’t forgive you(wonder who that would be:-), but we must do what we must 🙂
    Love YA!
    Deanna

  2. Desirae Clopper

    Hay! That was pretty funny about snapping your fingers! If only that would work on Rachel! Ha Ha! Glad you found something that worked. And don’t worry, that nest friend of yours could never go through life not having you as a friend! 🙂
    Love Ya!
    Desirae

  3. Nichole

    VERY funny. I guess maybe I’ll read 1 Cor. 13 and try some Eau de Purex. 🙂

  4. Misty Kristy

    If you were forgiven for getting a certain pair of shoes, I’m sure you’ll be forgiven for this.

  5. hehehe. Since my dad used to be a painter, I knew how to do that…but…it would be hard to do without the fabric softener!

Leave a Reply

