Sing, or The post in which I show you my latest crafty attempt and how to make one yourself.

What does one do with a box full of vintage sheet music they purchase at an auction for $1.00?

Well, if they are anything like me, they look through the box once, pull out what looks interesting, and put the rest into an old briefcase to be forgotten about for a few years and generally collect dust.

Then one day, while browsing this really cool blog they might come across this post and in particular, this image:

And armed with the knowledge of those really cute banners that have been appearing everywhere…

It’s then that they remember all that vintage music collecting dust and decide to turn it into something more pleasing to the eye.

At least, that’s what I did.

And that’s how I wound up with this.

Yes, for the first few seconds, it *really* hurt to cut the music up. But I made sure to choose some organ music which I can’t play anyway, a piece that was so torn on the edges and into the music it wasn’t playable, and a piece that was missing the last page and was therefore also not playable. So I got over it.

For those of you who want to know how to make something like this for yourself, here are my carefully thought out made-up-as-I-went along directions.

1 ) Open up a new document in your word processor of choice. (I used MS Word.) Choose your font – I suggest one that will have some width to it. Using whatever tool you have for bubble letters (I used WordArt) type out your word – one letter per page. I choose the word “Sing” since it went with theme, but you can use any word that you want too… Dream, like my inspirational picture, or Happy, or even supercalifragilisticexpialidocious if you wish. Because, you know, no home is complete with out that word somehow included in the decor.

2 ) Determine what paper you wish to use. You can probably use anything… scrapbook paper, something you’ve designed yourself, newsprint, maybe even the comics page.

3 ) Print out your letters. If you are really confident, you can put the paper you’re using right into the printer. I wasn’t so confident (I know my limits and Murphy’s Law) so I printed mine out on normal printer paper first, and used carbon paper to transfer the design onto the music.

4 ) Find some thin cardboard or thick cardstock. I used two empty cereal boxes… the front and back panels from each.

5 ) Glue the paper to the cardboard. Make sure you spread it out thinly so the paper doesn’t buckle (you can mix it with a little water if you wish) and all the way to the edges.

6 ) Cut out your letters.

7 ) Find some string. I used a piece of bailing twine I got from the barn, but I’m sure jute would work, or ribbon, or whatever you wish to use.

8 ) Tape the letters to the string

9 ) Brush a coat of Mod-Podge over the letters, if you feel like it. I didn’t feel like it. And if I did, I don’t think I could have because I don’t think I have any Mod-Podge.

10 ) Find some place to hang it, step back, and admire your handiwork!

*Update* The blog I got the inspiration from, Living with Lindsay, is having an inspiration link-up party, so I’m participating.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Sing, or The post in which I show you my latest crafty attempt and how to make one yourself.

  1. Nichole

    Ooooohh! I love it!

Leave a Reply

