Sewing for Sister, Part 1

My little sister is growing taller by the day, it seems, and is therefore in need of some new clothes. I’ve been very inspired by various sewing blogs lately, and so after looking through our pattern and fabric stash, she and I chose what she’d like me to sew up for her.

I remembered a length of denim we have had for a long time. We got the whole piece at a yard sale for $1, and it wound up being about 4 yds and 60” nap.Though you can barely see them, there are largish roses printed on it as well. She chose a pattern for a half-circle skirt.

While locating the denim, we also came across a piece of burgundy/cranberry velvet that she loved, and it matched the roses perfectly. At first I wasn’t sure how to use it, but then I thought I would try to make a capelet. It took a bit of convincing, but she agreed. 🙂

******************************************************************************************************************************

For the skirt, I used Butterick Fast and Easy 3779.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Mostly, though I lengthened it considerably

Were the instructions easy to follow?
So easy I didn’t need them. 🙂

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like that it is so easy to make – 4 seams with my adaptation of the waist. Nothing to dislike.

Fabric Used:
A heavy denim which gave it a nice drape.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
As mentioned, I lengthened the skirt considerably. Also, since my sister is so petite it is much easier to get a good fit around the waist when I make an elastic or drawstring casing. Though I’m not sure what this pattern had for the waistband since I didn’t even look at the instructions, I think it had a fitted band, gathers, and a side zipper. Instead, I sewed the seam all the way up and made a simple elastic casing.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Definitely.

Conclusion:
Like I said, this was very fast and easy, which is good for me because I’m sort of a lazy seamstress. 😛 In fact, since both the front and back pieces were the same, I simply doubled the fabric and pinned the front piece to both layers at once on the center fold. Yay for a good pair of scissors!

******************************************************************************************************************************

For the capelet, I followed this tutorial from Disney at Ruffles N Stuff. I made a few modifications – namely my rectangle was only 60” long instead of 66”, and instead of using ribbon to finish the edges and make the tie, I just hemmed the edges and made a wide bias from the velvet, then sewed two snaps on the band so it sort of crosses over. It was my first time working with velvet, and while I found it a little “slippery”, it wasn’t too bad.

Isn’t she lovely?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sewing for Sister, Part 1

  1. “Were the instructions easy to follow?
    So easy I didn’t need them. :)” Sounds good to me!

    Darling skirt and capelet!

  2. Deanna Clopper

    So cute Linny! She always looks so cute! great job honey!
    DAC

Leave a Reply

