.a functional kitchen necessity.

Pardon the influx of sewing posts, but that’s what I’ve been doing lately – sewing, studying, sewing, studying, sewing… haha you get the point right?

On our most recent thrifting expedition, I found a lovely little vintage tablecloth. I knew it would make a great apron, and at $1.50 I just couldn’t pass it up!

ApronSupplies

So I decided to use the pattern pictured – I don’t remember the number and I’m too lazy to go find it now. 😛 I made View 2, (the one in the top middle.)

Apron

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes… the ones I had. The second sheet of instructions is missing from the pattern – the part I had were the instructions for laying out and cutting, and then how to do the flange, which I’m glad I had those. I have a good knowledge of basic garment construction, so doing the rest wasn’t hard even without the instructions.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
The vintage look! And it was easy. I don’t do complicated… I’m a pretty lazy seamstress. 😛 Nothing to dislike.

Fabric Used:
Thrifted cotton tablecloth.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
From the directions on the pattern pieces themselves, such as “Cut 2” on the bodice, I’m  assuming it was supposed to be lined. I didn’t have enough fabric to do that, but that was okay because I was planning on finishing the neckline with bias anyway, and the flange took care of the side seams.

I wanted to keep the bias edge of the table cloth for the hem of the apron “skirt,” so I made sure to lay it out accordingly. It was a round tablecloth, so the back of the apron sort of curves, but I like it. 🙂

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes and yes. 🙂

Conclusion:
What I really like about this patten is the width of the bodice with the flange, so it’s the one I use when I’m, say, preparing  lunch on Sunday after church – I’m dressed up and don’t want to get anything on my clothes, and the width gives me that extra coverage. (I need it because I’m not the neatest cook. :P)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “.a functional kitchen necessity.

  1. Absolutely darling! The ric-rac adds a perfect touch. 🙂

  2. It turned out really good! I would have never thought of using a table cloth for something like that!

Leave a Reply

