No need to knead?!

Oh dear. Anyone who knows me knows that making bread is on my list of least-liked things to do. More specifically, kneading bread – I do love shaping it after it’s all kneaded and nice and not sticky anymore. But that time between, when it’s really sticky and goopy and just ugh… I don’t like the feeling of it in my hands, I don’t like the messiness and the sticky goopiness.

Usually I can get around that by using our Kitchen Aid stand mixer with the dough fork (bless whoever invented that!) but then I saw this post at Honey&Jam and knew it was just the thing for me – no knead bread!

One variation on my part – I used 2 cups whole wheat flour, 2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour, and 2 cups bread flour.

And yes, I *just* realised that’s only 6 cups of flour and the recipe calls for 6 1/2 cups. You see? That’s how those disasters happen.*facepalm*

So no wonder it was sticky and needed about another – yup – 1/2 cup of flour worked in when I went to shape it.  😆 (at which point I thought “Ugh, do I really still have to mess with sticky dough!”)

It’s the oddest dough I’ve ever worked with though – it was very light and airy and bubbly. I liked it.

Anyway, one way or the other, it all worked out in the end – it’s a wonderful crusty bread!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “No need to knead?!

  1. Deanna Clopper

    Looks so good Linny!

  2. Nichole

    I’m very proud of you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

