Rice Pudding

Ah, this simple, homey dessert evokes so many good memories for me. It’s something I’ve grown up with and have loved as long as I can remember. My grandmother made it and so Dad grew up eating it. When he married Mom, of course it was one of the things she learned to make. And now, I make it too (though I think I may have made it once years ago, but I’m not certain – mostly my memories are of watching Mom make it and waiting for it to be done.)

It’s not hard to make at all.

Cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, rice, sugar, milk, vanilla.

Stir together in a big oven proof bowl.

Cook until the rice is tender.

*A note on the bowl – we purchased it at the Williamsburg Pottery Outlet in Williamsburg, VA, several years ago. The only thing we use it for is rice pudding. šŸ™‚

Mmmm.

Put it in the fridge and get it nice and cold.

Put some in a pretty dish* to take a photo.

*Or, in my case since we don’t have any small clear glass bowls that don’t have some sort of design on them, you use a glass teacup, turn it around so the handle doesn’t show, and position a spoon in front of the spot where the handle attaches to the cup. And then a few days later, discover a clear dessert dish in the cupboard. Just keepin’ it real here, folks.

Then you eat it and savor every delicious mouthful.

Okay, so I deliberated and thought and argued with myself over whether I should post the actual recipe. One part of me would love to share, but the other part says no because it’s one of those really special family recipes and having it on the internet for anyone to make might, for me, take away the specialness of it. Is that weird? So I came to middle ground – if you want the recipe, all you have to do is leave a comment with your email and I’d be more than happy to send it to you – I guess I just want to feel like I know the person it’s going to. šŸ˜€

What’s *your* favourite family recipe and/or what food or dessert do you have fondest memories of?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Rice Pudding

  1. Deanna Clopper

    Looks yummy even if I’ve never eaten it:-) Love the new look of your blog!
    Deanna

  2. Nichole

    Awwww. Cute post. And I love the new look!

  3. Love the new look, too!

    I like dishes that are only for… certain dishes. šŸ™‚

  4. Larissa

    I’d like the recipe šŸ™‚ But I don’t want to leave my email here for all to see… I hope sending it to you in a FB message is enough šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

