It *Is* Well

When peace like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.

It is well with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Horatio Spafford



This hymn has always been my favorite, for many reasons and on many levels. I love the story behind it, which I’m sure you all are familiar with, but just in case you can read it here. I love the comfort, peace, and assurance it never fails to give. And of course, the third verse is simply glorious and full of beautiful truth.

I’ve sung this hymn three times this week. And it was definitely one of the weeks I needed it.

Last Saturday evening, we received a phone call from our friends-that-are-really-like-family in NC. Their son, Ryan, was involved in a head-on collision, resulting in severe injuries – skull fractures, brain injuries, rib fractures, lung damage, etc.

Now, a week later, Ryan still is in ICU, and he has a long road of healing ahead of him. But we know that God is able to do “exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think” Eph. 3:20

It’s been hard, yes, but it’s also been amazing to watch God work in everything that has happened. From the fact that He has brought Ryan this far despite amazing odds against him (he wasn’t expected to survive the emergency surgery that first night) small progresses that Ryan has made (that don’t seem that small when you think about it), to how his parents and sister have been strong and kept the faith through what has been the hardest week of their lives, to the amazing number of people who are praying for him, to the personal assurances God has given me throughout the week that He cares – I know that the Lord is faithful and that “it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure.” Phil. 2:13.

Please pray for Ryan and his family, and if you want to follow their journey and let them know you are praying, here is the CaringBridge page that has been set up.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

