It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas

I think we’re finally finished with our decorating. We’ve got lots of twinkly lights – my favorite thing about the season! They’re just so pretty.

I saw the following quiz over on Bramblewood Fasion, and while she didn’t tag me, I thought it would be fun to do anyways.

The Christmas Quiz

1. What is your one favorite dish to see on the table at Christmas dinner?
Salt Mackerel for Christmas breakfast. I’ll explain this more under the traditions question below. And “Christmas Salad.” It’s made with apples, grapes, dates, walnuts and mandarin oranges – tossed with a bit of mayonnaise. It’s good, I promise.

2. Do you have a Nativity scene or a creche? How many pieces does it have?
We do. It has twelve original pieces – Joseph, Mary, Christ, a shepherd, two sheep, three wise men, a donkey, a cow, and an angel that always falls off of the nail she hangs on. There’s also one added cow, and they all go in the stable that Mom and Dad made for their second Christmas.

3. What is your favorite Christmas movie?
I love White Christmas, It’s A Wonderful Life, The Christmas Card, and Christmas In Connecticut.

4. If you and your family could spend this Christmas in another country, where would you go?
Interesting question. I just asked them and the general consensus seems to be Ireland.

5. Does your grandmother usually knit you something for Christmas, or does she give you something different — say, a Wii?
Both of my grandmothers have passed away, but I remember getting a lovely watch from my paternal grandmother one year. I still have it but don’t wear it anymore.

 

6. Do you usually make or buy your Christmas gifts?
I try to make the majority of them, and buy whatever isn’t feasible to make.

7. When do you set up your Christmas decorations? When do you take them down?
We start decorating after Thanksgiving, and usually it takes us a few days to get it done. They come down soon after New Year’s Day.

8. What kind of activities does your church usually have at Christmas?
Our choir puts on a cantata every year (singing and a reader’s theatre drama) and we go caroling and distribute Christmas boxes on the Wednesday evening before Christmas.

9. Which of the Gospels gives your favorite account of the Christmas story?
Luke.

10. Have you ever acted in a Christmas pageant? What part did you play?
The aforementioned cantatas – several different parts.

11. Do you buy Christmas presents for your pets?
Sometimes. I know I can always count on them getting  something from Nichole though.

12. What is your favorite Christmas tradition?
Christmas breakfast. We have Salt Mackerel (it’s fish in a salt brine) and Fried Potatoes. This tradition comes from Dad’s side – when he was growing up, they would occasionally have Salt Mackerel for breakfast. After Mom and Dad were married, someone mentioned that and Mom said “let’s have that for breakfast on Christmas, then!” So she looked all over a nearby town, trying to find this fish, and finally found a little Jamaican-owned seafood shop that carried it. And so… the tradition was born! Every year for as long as I can remember, we’ve had salt mackerel for Christmas Breakfast with some of my family.

From Mom’s side – spending Christmas Eve listening to Handel’s Messiah, (which Mom and I love, Dad tolerates, and Ada endures) and sit in the living room eating pomegranates and kumquats, talking and enjoying each others’ company, playing games, maybe watching a movie, and staying up late.

Have a wonderful Christmas!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas

  1. Deanna Clopper

    Love all the pictures! The house looks fantastic 🙂
    Nina

  2. Nicole

    He, he. They’re going to love their treats this year. 🙂

  3. Desirae

    I love your decorations Linz! It’s absolutely fantabulous! I love decorating for Christmas, and hate to see it come down after the new year. 🙂 After all, it took me a week to get all my stuff up 🙂

    Great Post!
    Love ya!
    DZ

  4. Johnny

    Hi, I found this article via Google by googling salted Mackerel on Christmas Morning. I wanted to see if anyone else did it and where it comes from. Well it appears that its not a common tradition seeing how your family started it just for your family. I just wanted to share this with you for I bet you didn’t realize other people did this tradition either =D If I find out where we got it from ill put a second post =)

    *oh and instead of Christmas Salad we have cornbread

Leave a Reply

