An introduction, a recipe, and a menu

First, the introduction – meet Rémy!

 IMG_0277IMG_0279IMG_0274IMG_0275

Yes, he is named after the adorable little rodent in Ratatouille. (Artisan model > French word > the movie is about cooking and is set in Paris > chrome/silver/grey > Remy. In case you wondered.)

Saturday was Dad’s birthday, and he wanted to go to Shady Maple in East Earl, Pa for breakfast. If you ever find yourself in the area you must not only visit the restaurant but also Good’s, the store at the bottom of the hill. That’s where I found Remy – complete with a discount and rebate that gave me $50 off the $239 shelf price. Good deal!

So today I put him to work. The first thing we made was popovers.

IMG_0297

The recipe is from the little booklet that came with the mixer. I was pleasantly surprised to find a lot of really good looking recipes in there.

IMG_0306 

I’d never made nor eaten popovers before. I didn’t know what I was missing! They’re lovely little airy puffs of deliciousness, prefect spread with homemade blackberry jam

Popovers

2 eggs

1 cup milk**

1 TB butter, melted

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp salt

 

Place eggs, milk, butter, flour and salt in mixing bowl. Stir until combined, do not overmix.

There are a few options when it comes to baking the popovers. The recipe I have says to use custard dishes placed on a cookie sheet, but you can also use a popover pan or a regular muffin tin. I used a muffin tin. Whichever you use, make sure to grease them well. Fill cups half full. Place in a cold oven and set heat at 450*. Bake for 15 minutes; reduce heat to 350* and bake 20-25 minutes longer. Serve warm with butter, jam, or honey. 

** We were just about out of milk, so I used a half cup of evaporated milk mixed with a half cup of water. I’m not positive, but I think doing this added the littlest bit of sweetness to the popovers. In any case, it worked well.

 

IMG_0315

 

And the menu. My birthday is next week, and so I took some time last night and this morning to decide just what I wanted to have for my birthday meal. Once I settled on everything, I thought I’d have a bit of fun designing a menu card:

Untitled

 

Recipe sources: Cornish hens, Green beans, Pasta, Cake.  I believe I’ll get some sparking Blood Orange soda from Giant to go with it as well. Mmmm, can’t wait!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “An introduction, a recipe, and a menu

  1. Sigh, I’m jealous! Have fun with Remy!! 🙂

  2. What/how did you add the fruit inside of the popovers?? They look delicious and super easy – a win in my books!

  3. Deanna Clopper

    That’s one snazzy looking mixer 🙂 Have fun with it!

  4. Nicole

    Wow, I’ve never made popovers due to not having a popover pan – but will have to try it now in a muffin tin.

  5. I love that you named your mixer! I haven’t named my, though I do usually name things. Hmmm….

Leave a Reply

