not your normal grapes

If you had asked me a year ago what I planned to do to mark the last day of my twenty-first year, I probably would have looked at you just a bit strangely and told you that I had no idea – usually I don’t plan things a year in advance. Perhaps I would have tossed a few ideas out there, like maybe an early celebration with family/friends (which would have, in a way, turned out to be correct, as a bunch of us are going ice skating tonight, though the date was set by someone else and really had nothing to do with my birthday) or something like that.

But I am sure that I wouldn’t have included making pickled grapes on that list.

(DZ, Nina, Nichole, et al., I know.)

On my most recent trip to the library to pick up a book I had on hold, I decided to take a minute or two to glance at the cookbook section. It was a good thing too, because sitting on the shelf was (what appears to be our library system’s only copy of) A Homemade Life. The last time I checked this book out I didn’t get to finish it, as it had to go back to the library to be passed on to whoever was waiting their turn to read it next. Needless to say, it quickly joined the other books in my stack.

IMG_0378

Last night while flipping through the last half of the book, the part that I hadn’t read, I  found this story. And the accompanying recipe for pickled grapes. (the recipe is at the end of the article if you’re interested in trying it for yourself.) Perhaps it was the time-change related sleep deprivation, but once I read the story and the recipe I was immediately sold on the idea. Of course, the fact that I had planned to swing by the store after work this morning and pick up – yes – grapes, may also have had something to do with it.

IMG_0578

So that’s how I found myself in the kitchen at 2:00 this afternoon, mixing vinegar, sugar, and spices in a saucepan, boiling the concoction, and pouring it over freshly washed grapes…

IMG_0579

…and after letting them cool, pouring them into a jar…

IMG_0589 IMG_0603

… to be pickled overnight in the fridge. I just  tasted one – it’s been about three hours – and it already tastes rather promising. Not bad at all.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “not your normal grapes

  1. Nina

    Well, I must say they look nice, but sound totally gross 🙂 Happy Birthday Linny dear!

  2. Nicole

    To quote dear Felix:

    This is cruel. This is inhuman. THIS is inedible.

    I couldn’t have said it better myself. 😉

  3. I’m about to try this with left over pickle brine from a jar of store bought pickles. Sounds delish!

Leave a Reply

